Lawrence Raab

Lawrence Raab is the author of ten books of poems, including Mistaking Each Other for Ghosts (Tupelo, 2015), which was longlisted for the National Book Award and named one of the Ten Best Poetry Books of 2015 by The New York Times, and What We Don’t Know About Each Other (Penguin, 1993), a winner of the National Poetry Series and a finalist for the 1993 National Book Award. His latest collection is April at the Ruins (Tupelo, 2022). Why Don’t We Say What We Mean?, essays about poetry, appeared in 2016. He is the Harry C. Payne Professor of Poetry Emeritus at Williams College.


  • The Invention of Everyday Life

    A few days later Pierre arrived.
  • The World Provides

    Someone somewhere must always be

    Lawrence Raab: “POETRY AND STUPIDITY” 1. OBSCURITY One of the shortest and most provocative pieces in Paul Valéry’s “A Poet’s…

    Issue #63 October 2016
  • So Much More Mournful than Before

    This morning, remembering the end
  • The Summer House

    I let the envelope fall to the floor unopened,
  • It’s Not Just Trains

    The ticket office was closing