William Logan

The Orders of the Ordinary
October 18, 2019 Logan William

The Orders of the Ordinary
Death seemed no more
than inconvenience—the pallbearers
and mourning proved dress rehearsals
for some afterlife that never came C.O.D.
Plumped-up trees removed themselves
from consideration, unwilling—
no, unable—to suffer the dignity.
A few sooty birds perched
in the upper branches, not like angels—
perched out of carelessness, boredom.

William Logan’s writes poetry and a little criticism. He has published eleven books of poetry and eight books of essays and reviews. Logan has received, among other honors, the National Book Critics Circle Award in Criticism, the Aiken Taylor Award in Modern American Poetry, the Staige D. Blackford Prize for Nonfiction, the inaugural Randall Jarrell Award in Poetry Criticism, the Corrington Medal for Literary Excellence, the Peter I. B. Lavan Younger Poets Award, and the Allen Tate Prize.  He lives with the poet and artist Debora Greger in Gainesville, Florida, and Cambridge, England.